The Witches of Blackbrook

Author: Tish Thawer

Genre:  Paranormal Fantasy

Year Published: 2015

Rating: 2.75 / 5

This book is the first in it’s series and follows three sisters trying to find their way back to each other in every life but failing to do so until the present day after Karina, the oldest, was burned at the stake for witchcraft during the Salem Witch Trials. 

This book reminded me a lot of the Witches of East End show and the Daughters of Dark Root books by April Asheim. I wasn’t mad at that but I felt like this was sort of done a lot and like this wasn’t super original. I didn’t hate the book but I didn’t particularly like it either. I was kind of bored and was waiting for something exciting to happen that never happened. 

There really wasn’t anything major to happen in this book other than Karina and her sisters finding each other and a surprise demon disguised as one of Karina’s sisters but that’s it. The witchcraft was pretty spot on. I’ll give the book that but it wasn’t my cup of tea. 

After reading nonstop dark romance for months I guess I was hoping for some dark romance and something more jarring than something fluffy like this book and I guess that’s my fault. As of right now I’m DNFing this series and I don’t think I’ll go back for a while. If this book or series is on your tbr give it a try but go in knowing this isn’t a dark romance and is more of a fluffy romance.

Leave a comment